Information on Flamingos Page 2

Flamingo Information

< Previous Page

flamingo two

Four New World Flamingos:
Chilean Flamingo (P. chilensis) inhabits New World Temperate S. South America. James's Flamingo (P. jamesi) inhabits the High Andes in Peru, Chile, Bolivia, Ecuador and Argentina. Andean Flamingo (P. andinus) inhabits High Andes in Peru, Chile, Bolivia and Argentina. Caribbean Flamingo (P. ruber) inhabits Caribbean and Galapagos islands and is the tallest.


Flamingos' diet changes as the salinity of the salt pond changes depending on rainfall. They always eat brine shrimp and other minute aquatic creatures, which give them their color (flamingo chicks are born grey). If flamingos do not receive enough carotene in their diet, they become malnourished and turn pale. Increased fresh water introduces water-boatmen and copoepods appear, creating a more diverse diet.

Flamingos wade in shallow waters while they feed, lowering their head to the water. Flamingos legs bend backwards and they eat upside down. With filtering plates in their bills, they trap food flowing through the water. This straining method is unique to the flamingo bird.

Reproductions and Nesting
It takes three years for a flamingo to reach sexual maturity.

Continued >



Barking Dog Driving You Nuts?!?
Learn the easy solution here!

Wildlife Links

Wildlife Index

Endangered Species

Animal Alert!

Wildlife for Kids

Animal Careers

Wildlife Organizations

Teachers Help

Eco Travel

Wildlife Software

Did You Know?

Other Links
©,  All Rights Reserved