Information On Giraffes Page 2


Giraffe Information

< Previous Page

Giraffe Subspecies

There are nine subspecies of giraffe based on distinctive color and pattern.

* Reticulated or Somali Giraffe (G.c. reticulata) - large, polygonal liver-colored spots outlined by a network of bright white lines. Inhabits northeastern Kenya, Ethiopia, Somalia.

* Angolan or Smoky Giraffe (G.c. angolensis) - large spots and some notches around the edges, extending down the entire lower leg. Inhabits Angola, Zambia.

* Kordofan Giraffe (G.c. antiquorum) - smaller, more irregular spots that cover the inner legs. Inhabits western and southwestern Sudan.

* Masai or Kilimanjaro Giraffe (G.c. tippelskirchi) - jagged-edged, vine-leaf shaped spots of dark chocolate on a yellowish background. Inhabits central and southern Kenya, Tanzania.

* Nubian Giraffe (G.c. camelopardalis) - large, four-sided spots of chestnut brown on an off-white background and no spots on inner sides of the legs or below the hocks. Inhabits eastern Sudan, northeast Congo.

* Rothschild Giraffe or Baringo Giraffe or Ugandan Giraffe (G.c. rothschildi) - deep brown, blotched or rectangular spots with poorly defined cream lines. Hocks may be spotted. Inhabits Uganda, north-central Kenya.

* South African Giraffe (G.c. giraffa) - rounded or blotched spots, some with star-like extensions on a light tan background, running down to the hooves. Inhabits South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique.

* Thornicroft or Rhodesian Giraffe (G.c. thornicrofti) - star-shaped or leafy spots extend to the lower leg. Inhabits eastern Zambia. (END PAGE)

* West African or Nigerian Giraffe (G.c. peralta) - numerous pale, yellowish red spots. Inhabits Niger, Cameroon.

Continued >



Barking Dog Driving You Nuts?!?
Learn the easy solution here!

Wildlife Links

Wildlife Index

Endangered Species

Animal Alert!

Wildlife for Kids

Animal Careers

Wildlife Organizations

Teachers Help

Eco Travel

Wildlife Software

Did You Know?

Other Links,  All Rights Reserved